ElectionBuddy allows you to customize when the results can be seen, and what is shown in the results. This can be customized for both the election administrator and the voters and is done so on the first page of your election setup, the "Details" stage.

Three settings that control this information: "Voter Anonymity", "Election Administrator Results Viewability", and "Voter Results Viewability".

Voter Anonymity

This is the first setting in the "Security" section on the Details page of your election setup; it controls whether voters' choices are visible with the results, and to whom:

This setting controls if the voter's choices are hidden, visible to administrators, or visible to voters and administrators. Typically, most election administrators choose to hide the voters' choices as most organizations bylaws and related legislation require this to maintain election integrity. This setting is non-adjustable once your election is running — so choose wisely!

Election Administrator Results Viewability

The second security setting addresses when the election administrator can view the results — either while the election is running, or not until the election is over:

This setting is also non-adjustable when your election is running.

If your setting is "any time after the elections starts," which allows the election administrator to view the results while the election is running, the "Voted" status of the three most recent voters is obscured in the voter list.

Voter Results Viewability

The third security setting asks when the voters can view the results, if at all:

  • Any time after the election starts — voters will be able to use their ballot link to view the results of the election while it is running. An email with the results link can be scheduled and sent out to all voters after the election closes.

  • Only after the election has ended — voters will be able to use their ballot link to view the results of the election after it has closed. An email with the results link can be scheduled and sent out to all voters after the election closes.

  • Don't allow voters to view the results — voters will not be able to view the results of the election through ElectionBuddy.

  • This setting, unlike the first two, can be changed while your election is running.

Did this answer your question?