When a vote is in the "Running" stage, it is limited as to what can be edited and some of those limitations are changes to choices, candidates, or question information on the ballot as;

  • We want to ensure that you have the fairest vote possible. If candidate information is changed, the voters who have already voted may want to change their vote.

  • Some changes to the vote details may influence the outcome of the vote and jeopardize the vote integrity

´╗┐That being said, we have some suggestions as a fix to this issue:

Suggestions

  • Send an email to all of the voters stating the updated information. If it's a small detail, people who have already voted may not mind. Please note that you should avoid using an ElectionBuddy reminder to send this email because reminders only go to those who haven't voted.

  • You can rerun the vote, and we would refund you 50% of your first vote cost as long as it is in fact the same vote. Generally, this would be a better option if the details you want to change such as candidate names or bios could influence the outcome of the vote.

  • We can check with the development team to see if this can be updated for you, but there will be an additional cost at a minimum of $99.00, as this has to be done by the team and it takes time. Specifically, we check logs and update your changes within ElectionBuddy to ensure vote integrity. And with these edits the risk of a vote challenge increases, which will require our further involvement as well.

If you wish for us to edit, or require the 50% refund on a re-run, please reach out to our Success team so they can review what options are available.

For additional information please see our article on Editing Your Vote when the Vote is "Ready to Run", or is "Running"

Did this answer your question?