When finished with your vote setup, you are asked to review your vote. Once reviewed, you are required to hit "Start Election" to activate your vote. If your vote is not scheduled to run immediately, it will be in a "Ready to Run" state, and ElectionBuddy will open it at your scheduled time. When a vote is live, it is in the "Running" state.

You can make edits to your vote set up in both the "Ready to Run" and "Running" stages. However, each of these stages has a different protocol surrounding the edits that can be made in each stage.

"Ready to Run" Vote

If you are using printed notices or manual keys, and you have already printed/surfaced the notices/keys, please note that the keys will all be inactivated upon inactivation of the vote, and an entirely new, different set of keys will be created when you go to re-start the vote. Therefore, we do not recommend making edits if you have already printed/surfaced your voters' keys.

If the vote is in a "Ready to Run" stage:

  • You can feel free to edit, but please note the following message that will appear when you attempt to edit your vote setup:

  • You will be asked to go through the "Review" page one more time, to review the item that you have edited.

  • You will also be asked to "Proceed to Payment" if your vote does not qualify as a free vote, although you may already have paid. This is because the amount you paid was credited to your account when you made your edits, in case the edit you made makes a change to the cost of your vote.

  • All you have to do is proceed to the payment page to redeem the credits and get your vote ready to run again!

"Running" Votes

If the vote is in a "Running" stage, you are much more limited as to what can be edited:

You cannot change any of the positions, candidates, or question information for your ballot. If you want to make any changes to your ballot, you will need to cancel the vote, duplicate it, and then re-run the vote. This is because:

  • We want to ensure that you have the fairest vote possible. If you changed candidate information, the voters who have already voted may want to change their vote.

  • If you change or add more than the reserved extra voters, you have the capability to overly influence the vote outcome in the middle of a vote.

If you have made a number of errors in setup and want to stop your vote, please just close the vote (do not delete it - just close it) and contact us about helping you set up another vote.

Update, Rename

Did this answer your question?